PARIS PHOTOGRAPHIQUE | HOME

FR / EN

Visions de Voyage is an exhibition outlining 15 different interpretations of travel.

Even if travel photography is seen as a context for filling travel guides, tourist brochures and postcards, Visions de Voyage proposes an alternative evaluation by contrasting traditional and less accustomed examinations of the theme.

15 photographers translate their vision of travel, through mediums such as memory, imagination, time, as well as architecture and the more conventional view of people and places from foreign lands.

The pictures of Arnaud Laroche are more than pictorial documents of a journey by the seaside. They’re more like visual representations of memories. A kind of journey through a present past: scenes, objects or events that pass before the photographer’s lens, triggering an echo of a distant childhood memory.

Tatiana Margaux Bonhomme’s dyptichs reveal a dialogue between the present and the future, announcing the moment when space and time collide to create a mysterious kind of journey.

The dream-like vision of Cambodia, captured by Elisabeth Lhomelet, or the established eye of Frederic Hediard, who observes the daily movements of Sri Lanka’s local population, capture precise instants of life, ceasing an emotion and creating a feeling.

Sico traces the journeys of others from a specific point of view. A tourist on vacation in Brussels, in Paris, in front of well-known monuments, observed photographing their own private journey to preserve a memory or share it with someone else.

There are also journeys to places near and far, like Brittany (Thomas Dromer), India (Jean-Bastien Lagrange), Iceland, (Estelle Lagarde), Prague (Gorkem Unal), Guatemala, Chile and Bolivia (Perinne Lacamp).

In her large format black and white pictures, Cecile Gendraud explores the subterranean setting of the Paris metro, with its contemporary designed staircases and escalators – a transit system that permits even the least adventurous of us to travel without leaving the city we call home.

Visions de voyage also invites you to discover Frederic Tran’s architectural journey of a world built by man for man, but without man. Catherine Ertzscheid proposes a rediscovery of three Parisian spaces that she turns into abstract forms.

By underscoring the relationship between these varying interpretations, the horizons of travel photography are broadened, allowing the visitors to this exhibition to discover and experience their own “vision de voyage.”

Photographers

Call for entries

Press

Contact

Archives


Paris Photographique Newsletter :


Practical Information

The next exhibition by PARIS PHOTOGRAPHIQUE will take place from September 13 to September 24 2006 at the Espace Beaurepaire. The gallery is open every day from 12-8pm.

You are cordially invited to the opening reception on September 13 2006 at 6pm.

The open days are an opportunity for the visitors to meet the photographers, discover their work and learn more about photography. They will be held on Saturday September 16 and Saturday September 23 from 2pm to 6pm.


Espace Beaurepaire
28, rue Beaurepaire
75010 Paris
M° Jacques Bonsergent ou M° République
01 42 45 59 64

Free entry

all rights reserved © 2005 PARIS PHOTOGRAPHIQUE

PARIS PHOTOGRAPHIQUE | HOME

Visions de Voyage est une exposition qui met en relief 15 interprétations différentes du voyage.


Alors que la photographie de voyage est souvent considérée comme un moyen pour illustrer les guides de voyages, les brochures de tourisme et les cartes postales, Visions de Voyage se veut être une approche alternative qui contraste avec l'interprétation traditionnelle et habituelle du thème.

15 photographes traduisent leur vision du voyage, ce par le biais de la mémoire, de l'imagination, du temps, ainsi que de l'architecture et des représentations les plus conventionnelles des populations et des pays étrangers.


Les photographies d’Arnaud Laroche sont bien plus que des documents picturaux d'un voyage au bord de mer. Elles se constituent davantage en représentations visuelles de souvenirs, une sorte de parcours à travers un passé qui se veut présent: des scènes, des objets ou des événements qui défilent devant l'objectif du photographe, faisant écho à des souvenirs d'une enfance lointaine.


Les diptyques de Tatiana Margaux Bonhomme révèlent un dialogue entre le présent et l'avenir, annonçant le moment où l'espace et le temps entrent en collision pour créer un voyage des plus mystérieux.


La vision onirique du Cambodge saisie par Elisabeth Lhomelet ou le regard établi de Frederic Hediard, qui observe le quotidien des citoyens du Sri Lanka, capturent des instants de vie, des émotions et des sentiments.


Sico retrace le parcours de voyageurs selon un point de vue bien donné. Des touristes en vacances à Bruxelles, à Paris, devant des monuments connus. Ils sont observés, épiés en train de photographier pour eux-mêmes ce qui leur permettra de garder un souvenir de leur voyage.

On trouvera également des photographies d’endroits plus ou moins proches, plus ou moins lointains, comme la Bretagne (Thomas Dromer), Prague (Gorkem Unal), l’Inde (Jean-Bastien Lagrange), l’Islande (Estelle Lagarde), le Guatemala, l'Argentine et le Mexique (Perrine Lacamp).

Avec ses photographies noir et blanc en grand format, Cécile Gendraud explore les bas-fonds du métro parisien, ses escaliers et ses escalators de design contemporain - un système de transit qui permet aux moins aventureux de voyager sans même quitter leur ville.

Visions de Voyage vous invite à découvrir le voyage architectural de Frédéric Tran. Celui d’un monde construit par l’homme pour l’homme, mais sans hommes. Ou, encore, le travail de Catherine Ertzscheid qui nous propose de redécouvrir trois espaces parisiens qu'elle transforme en formes abstraites.

C'est en soulignant la relation entre ces interprétations diverses et variées que les horizons de la photographie du voyage sont élargis, permettant aux visiteurs de cette exposition de découvrir et vivre leur propre "Vision de Voyage."

FR / EN

Photographes

Candidatures

Presse

Contact

Archives


Paris Photographique Newsletter :


Information pratique

La prochaine exposition de PARIS PHOTOGRAPHIQUE se déroulera du 13 au 24 septembre 2006 à l'Espace Beaurepaire.

Vous êtes convié au vernissage de l'inauguration le 13 septembre 2006 de 18h à 21h.

Les journées de rencontres sont une occasion pour les visiteurs de dialoguer avec les photographes et elles auront lieu les samedis 16 et 23 septembre à partir de 14h.

L'exposition est ouverte de 12h à 20h tous les jours.


Espace Beaurepaire
28, rue Beaurepaire
75010 Paris
M° Jacques Bonsergent ou M° République
01 42 45 59 64

Entrée gratuite

tous droits réservés © 2005 PARIS PHOTOGRAPHIQUE